pasobrat.blogg.se

Drobo mac os disk utility
Drobo mac os disk utility













drobo mac os disk utility
  1. Drobo mac os disk utility how to#
  2. Drobo mac os disk utility trial#
drobo mac os disk utility

Second issue I had was drive and not drobo related – I bought my drobo preconfigured with two seagate 1TB drives – and one of these drives failed. So in addition you are also vasting energy because the system is ALWAYS available. The main problem here is still unresolved because the drobo still doesn’t go into standby (drives are, drobo not) when used as airdisk in combination with a airport extreme. Since the first weeks of usage the firmware of the drobo has now been updated several times and the vents are now blowing not as much as at the beginning… but: now for exactly one year and was facing multiple problems during this time.įirst of all I had troubles with the vents – they are too loud to use the drobo in a ‘silenced’ area like my living room.

Drobo mac os disk utility how to#

I also found now several documents at their knowledge base showing how to handle the DROBO in case of disk-problems… and – yes, you can believe it – now you are not only allowed to maintain you DROBO with third party tools (DiskWarrior, Disk Utility, TechTool Deluxe / Pro) – it’s now recommended! 1TB) later on with new drives the FIRST partition will not change – only the SECOND partition is expanding then:įollowing this guide I realized one thing: DROBO Dashboard again is only recognizing ONE single partition. 200GB out of 930 GB with a 2TB setup of DROBO). This partition will keep it’s fixed size (e.g. What’s not really clear on this document: keep in mind that the FIRST partition is the one you will use for TimeMachine and it’s new Sparsebundle image. How to proceed here is really simple – just follow the documentation. In the past this was not supported and recommended. One – the FIRST one – for TimeMachine use, the second for all your other data. The new point is that you have to partition the DROBO into two segments.

  • a new DROBO Dashboard version 1.6.6 ( release notes) is available (firmware is uptodate: 1.3.5).
  • Mac OS Extended (Journaled) is now supported.
  • (yes, I know – there was one in the past too… but this one now is different)
  • There is now a document showing how to setup the DROBO correctly.
  • drobo mac os disk utility

    I checked the DROBO-Support pages – and hoped that since my last visit there they realized that there is a problem by using the DROBO in such a constellation like I do.Īnd yes – they have checked their user-discussion-board and come up with solutions now: So it was clear for me what to do: delete the sparsebundle TM-image and check what I can to to prevent further issues.

    drobo mac os disk utility

    So I just loose some convenience on deleting the corrupt image if I’m not able to repair it – but nothing which is worth $99.95 to spend 😉 And the other things are perfectly stored securely on my DROBO.

    Drobo mac os disk utility trial#

    But is it really worth $ 99.95? There’s no trial version so I couldn’t test it – and by the way: the things stored on the TM-image are only things I’ve already wiped out of my MBP. Mostly users refer then to ‘DiskWarrior’ – this piece of SW should be able to correct the errors. I googled a little bit and found that ‘Disk Utility’ is not the right choice to repair images which are showing such issues. So I tried it connected via AirDisk, accessed locally via FireWire connected DROBO, via USB connection… I also copied the image to an additional USB drive other than the DROBO… but it didn’t work. I then tried to repair the image several times – under different conditions. The directory of the SB showed several issues when I checked it with ‘Disk Utility’. 1st my TimeMachine Sparsebundle which is hosted on my DROBO 2TB via a Apple Airport Extreme AirDisk crashed.















    Drobo mac os disk utility